SIMEO

Herbier, Revellata (Corsica) - Photo : H. Lagrange, Biotope.

SIMEO

A multi-function innovative buoy for the monitoring of marine biodiversity

The project SIMEO – Ecological Monitoring Instrumental Station in the Ocean – plans to develop a range of marine stations equipped with floating buoys dedicated to the observation of marine vertebrates and their environments. It is a collaborative project headed by Biotope with partners including Nke Electronics, the IRD, the French Research Institute for Exploitation of the Sea (IFREMER), the Mer PACA and Brittany agencies, Transfer LR and Oséo.

The principal is to equip an autonomous buoy with several instruments (radar, sonar, video system…) which will allow continual monitoring in order to capture underwater data of a biological, meteorological, physical and hydrological nature and relay this pool of data to land for analysis.

SIMEO - Photo : Biotope.

Photo : F. Melki, Biotope.

Applications of SIMEO

At a time when renewable marine energy (EMR) is in the process of development, taking the marine environment into consideration is an increasingly important issue. In the marine monitoring domain, SIMEO is an achievement that allows the analysis and the synthesis of unique information in order to assist decision support tools:

• In the framework of impact assessments for planning projects like offshore wind farms.

• For the surveillance of protected marine areas (AMP).

For more detailed information, contact the service of Research and Development.

SIMEO

Herbier, Revellata (Corse) - Crédits : H. Lagrange, Biotope.

SIMEO

Une bouée multifonctions innovante pour la surveillance de la biodiversité marine

Le projet SIMEO - Station Instrumentale de Monitoring Ecologique dans l’Océan – vise à développer une gamme de stations marines instrumentées flottantes dédiées à l’observation des vertébrés marins et de leur milieu. C'est un projet collaboratif porté par Biotope dont les partenaires sont Nke Electronics, l’IRD, l’Ifremer, les pôles Mer PACA et Bretagne, Transfert LR et Oséo.

Le principe est d'associer sur une même bouée autonome plusieurs instruments de mesure de pointe (radar, sonar, système vidéo…) qui permettront de réaliser des mesures en quasi-continu afin de constituer des données biologiques, météorologiques, physiques et hydrologiques sous-marines puis de transmettre ce vivier de données à terre pour leur exploitation.

Schéma SIMEO - Crédits : Biotope.

Crédits : F. Melki, Biotope.

Applications de SIMEO

A l’heure où les Energies Marines Renouvelables (EMR) sont en plein développement, la prise en compte des écosystèmes est un enjeu important. Dans le domaine du monitoring de la biodiversité marine,  SIMEO est une réussite qui permet d'analyser et de synthétiser des informations uniques pour servir d’outil d’aide à la décision :

Dans le cadre d’études d’impact pour des projets d’aménagement tels les parcs éoliens offshore ;

Pour la surveillance des Aires Marines Protégées (AMP).

Pour de plus amples informations, contactez le service de Recherche et Développement.